Dibrugrah University

Dibrugarh University, the easternmost University of India was set up in 1965 under the provisions

Dibrugarh University, the easternmost University of India was set up in 1965 under the provisions of the Dibrugarh University Act, 1965 enacted by the Assam Legislative Assembly. It is a teaching-cum-affiliating University with limited residential facilities. The University is situated at Rajabheta at a distance of about five kilometres to the south of the premier town of Dibrugarh in the eastern part of Assam as well as India. Dibrugarh, a commercially and industrially advanced town in the entire northeastern region also enjoys a unique place in the fields of Art, Literature and Culture. The district of Dibrugarh is well known for its vast treasure of minerals (including oil and natural gas and coal), flora and fauna and largest concentration of tea plantations. The diverse tribes with their distinct dialects, customs, traditions and culture form a polychromatic ethnic mosaic, which becomes a paradise for the study of Anthropology and Sociology, besides art and culture. The Dibrugarh University Campus is wel l linked by roads, rails, air and waterways. The National Highway No.37 passes through the University Campus. The territorial jurisdiction of Dibrugarh University covers seven districts of Upper Assam, viz, Dibrugarh, Tinsukia, Sivasagar, Jorhat, Golaghat, Dhemaji and Lakhimpur. The University Campus extends over an area of more than 500 acres of which 60 acres are still covered under tea plantation. The University is accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) with an institutional score of 71% (B grade). The Re-accreditation has also been done in March 2009. Dibrugarh University is a member of the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) and recognised by all Universities in India and abroad on reciprocal basis.

Academic Aspects :-

The University through the various teaching Departments, Centres of Studies in its campus and the affiliated colleges scattered over the seven districts is imparting higher education in the various branches of learning in Arts, Commerce, Engineering, Medical, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Law, Science & Technology, Computer Sciences, Management and Teachers’ Training. In the University Campus, at present there are 17 Teaching Departments and 14 Centres of Studies teaching subjects in Arts, Science, Technology, Commerce, Management, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Law and Education leading to the M.A., M.Sc., M.Tech, M.Com., M.B.A., M.Pharm., M.Ed., M.L.I.Sc., B.Ed., B. Pharm., B.B.A., B.C.A., 5-Year B.A. LL.B. (Hons), M.C.A., B.Sc.(IT), and B.L.I.Sc. degrees. Some of these Departments/ Centres also conduct Diploma Courses like the two year Diploma Course in Tai-Language, Post Graduate Diploma in – Computer Application (PGDCA), Statistical Techniques and Computation (PGDSTC), Tea Technology and Plantation Management (PGDTTPM), Tourism Management (PGDTM), Journalism and Mass Communication (PGDJMC), Electronic Preparation of Mathematical Language (PGDEPML), Diploma in Oil-Well Drilling Technology (DOWDT), Advanced Post Graduate Diploma in – Atmospheric Physics (APGDAP), Telecommunication (APGDT), Petroleum Exploration Geo-Physics, Nano Science and Composite Materials, etc. Besides these, Dibrugarh University is going to introduce five year Integrated M.Sc. in Physics and Bachelor of Physical Education (B.P.Ed.) courses from 2009-2010 session. Dibrugarh University with financial assistance received from the Department of Electronics (DoE), Govt. of India under its Employment Generation Training Schemes Level, Repair and Maintenance of PC Hardwares and Repair and Maintenance of Consumer Electronic Equipments. Besides teaching the above mentioned Courses, the University offers M.Phil programme in ten subjects and encourages research in all departments for the Degree of Ph.D.

Site Url


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

9  +  1  =